Open content licensing for educators, e-Learning Activity – second Learning reflection

This is my second blog in the open content licensing for educators course ( #OCL4Ed ). I have enjoyed reading other peoples blog posts and the #OCL4Ed twitter feed. I am quite fond of the flexibility which this course offers.

The Open Textbook Tweet, a book provided on the course web site, is built for speed reading. The book is a collection of tweet answers in the form of 140 succinct framed statements which are categorized into designated and relevant sections. The book provides useful information about the future of education. The book is not only a great source of collaborative information but a tool which created awareness around the open content movement through crowd-sourcing.

I am devouring information from the web and am thrilled to see so many innovative web sites which are providing new ways to store learning resources. The internet allows sharing on a scale that we have never seen before.

Eben Moglen’s video presentation had me grinning from ear to ear and nodding my head. The section about the origin of the phrase “standing on the shoulders of giants” was superb. I find myself flicking between web searches and the course web site; this provides in-depth information on topics which interest and entertain me. I am actually surprised at the number of open educational resource repositories, most of which can be found on the WikiEducator site.

I found the discussions about distributors and the producers fascinating. We succeed in distributing our own work using emerging technologies in the 21st century; this changes everything. The creator or producer can now create, organize and disseminate their work single handedly if they wish. Creators are able to freely license their work and then disseminate this work for free in a highly scalable and efficient fashion. I posted a tweet this week which read “An open educational resource is free to access, reuse, revise, remix and redistribute, the digital world is scalable” this must be an unnerving statement for traditional publishers to read.

Something which I would like to spend more time investigating is the use of CC BY-SA and CC BY-NC. I am interested in playing out some scenarios where CC BY-SA and CC BY-NC are mixed as content matures.

3 thoughts on “Open content licensing for educators, e-Learning Activity – second Learning reflection

  1. I also got surprised when I read the Tweets Book because I’d never seen any before. The collection of links to OER respositories is very useful. I liked your post. :-)
    Toni

Leave a Reply

