Kata for diagnosing trouble shooting computer network issues – Networking Kata’s for Linux

Networking Kata’s for Linux

I would like to create some computer networking Kata’s for Linux

Background

I find the concept of choreographing steps in computer programming brilliant. To be honest I wish I had of though of it first. Dave Thomas who is the co-author of The Pragmatic Programmer coined the term Code Kata. A Code Kata allows programmers to hone their skills through practice and repetition. I once hand wrote Java Iterations with a pencil and paper for several nights leading up to an exam, it suffices to say that I have never been more confident or relaxed in an exam… oh and I nailed it!

Where to find Networking Kata / Kata’s online?

I did a search and did not find any networking diagnosis or trouble shooting Kata’s so I decided to write this blog post.
If you have any fundamental command line networking trouble shooting skills please leave a comment so we can provide our lovely readers with some Ninja skills :) I have categorized some of the common tools you can use, a great way to test these would be to create virtual machines using Virtual Box etc and get them talking/connecting to each other.

ping

tcpdump

netstat

traceroute

One thought on “Kata for diagnosing trouble shooting computer network issues – Networking Kata’s for Linux

Leave a comment